

ANNUAL MEETING PROGRAM

Fort Collins Group November 11, 2017





CMC FORT COLLINS GROUP ANNUAL DINNER 2017

THE LODGE AT MACKENZIE PLACE 4750 PLEASANT OAK DRIVE, FORT COLLINS

AGENDA

6:00 PM	Social and Cash Bar
6:30 PM	Dinner
7:30 PM	Welcome by Matt Biscan, President, Colorado Mountain Club
7:35 PM	Annual Report, Recognitions, Election of Officers
8:10 PM	Program with Steve Martin presenting "Dangerous River: The First 1000-mile Expedition of Canada's
	Churchill River"

FORT COLLINS GROUP COUNCIL 2017

Chair	Ward Whicker
Secretary	JoAnn Herkenhoff
Treasurer	Erin Bohler
Activities	Sheila Dielman
Leadership & Safety	Joe Allen
Membership & PR	Chris Haugen
Communications	Scott Farquhar
Programs	Anita Wright

COMMUNICATIONS & OTHER ROLES

Weekly E-mail	Paul Weber, Don Carpenter
Facebook	Scott Farquhar
Newsletters (6/yr)	Scott Farquhar
Website (fortcmc.org)	Sheila Dielman
Trails	Laura Hinds

OUTDOOR EDUCATION OFFERINGS IN 2017

Basic Mountaineering Course	Directors Sr. Instructors Asst. Instructors	Kevin Willey, Gordan Thibedeau John Raich, Kevin Willey, Gordan Thibedeau, Erin Bohler Peter Gill, John Wullschleger, Carlo Benvenga, Bruce Miskulin
Mountain Hiking School	Director Instructors	David Wasson Joe Allen, JoAnn Herkenhoff

		Ward Whicker, Scott Farquhar Brittany Pennington, Chris Haugen
Avalanche Terrain Avoidance	Instructors	Ward Whicker & John Raich
Trad Anchors Workshop	Instructor	Erin Bohler
Beginner Snowshoe Clinic	Instructors	Chris Haugen & Scott Farquhar
Indoor Climbing	Instructors	Laura Hinds, Chris Haugen, Bob Dietz
Leadership Training	Director	Joe Allen

TRIPS LED BY ACTIVE TRIP LEADERS/CO-LEADERS IN 2017

The Group's 39 active leaders/co-leaders completed some 113 trips in the past 12 months. These included 50 hikes, 12 ski tours, 16 scrambles/climbs, 3 backpack trips, 13 snowshoe outings, 4 bike tours, 5 mountain hiking school outings, and 10 basic mountaineering course trips.

Current active leaders:

Joe Allen, Jessica Auman, Pat Berman, Erin Bohler, Don Carpenter, Tom Chapel, Janet Cook, Kim Cunningham, Brigitte Dempsey, Robert Dietz, Eileen Edelman, Scott Farquhar, Laurie Folladori, Terri Gerard, Peter Gill, Carolyn Hammond, Chris Haugen, JoAnn Herkenhoff, Laura Hinds, Steve Martin, Amy Parker, Brittany Pennington, Jim Pisula, Diane Quinn, John Raich, Caroline Schmiedt, Robert Seward, Anne Stewart, Gordan Thibedeau, Pete Tomassi, Tom Trout, David Wasson, Paul Weber, Ward Whicker, Sue White, Kevin Willey, Anita Wright, John Wullschleger, York

NEW TRIP LEADERS IN 2017

Erin Bohler, Brigitte Dempsey, Amy Parker, Caroline Schmiedt, Tom Trout, Manuel Fillon

MOST ACTIVE TRIP LEADERS

>5: Carolyn Hammond, David Wasson, Paul Weber, Kevin Willey; >10: Scott Farquhar, Ward Whicker; >20: John Raich

NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Scott Farquhar, Pete Tomassi, Sue White

2017 PROGRAMS ARRANGED BY ANITA WRIGHT

January	Lucas Mouttet	Avalanche Awareness
February	Ellen Wohl	Ecology of Healthy Mountain Rivers
March	Susan Cruze	Larimer County Search & Rescue
April	Floyd Wright	Colorado Trail/Continental Divide Trail
Мау	Natalie Shrewsbury	Snakes of Colorado
June	Anita Wright	Annual Picnic & BBQ
September	Joel Gratz	Mountain Winter Weather Forecasting
October	Dawn Wilson	Alaska/Rockies Wildlife & Scenery Photography
November	Steve Martin	Annual Dinner: Expedition of the Churchill River

STATE CMC CONTRIBUTORS

State Council Representative	Don Carpenter
Risk Management, Safety & Schools Committee	John Raich
Conservation Advisory Committee	Ward Whicker

TREASURER'S REPORT (10/1/16-9/30/17)

Prepared by Erin Bohler:

\$14,210 beginning balance + \$6,767 revenue - \$10,260 expenses = \$10,717 ending balance Main revenue: membership dues, course fees, annual dinner fees Main expenses: annual dinner, equipment purchases, event venues, leaders' first aid courses

MEMBERSHIP

Prepared by Chris Haugen: Currently 301 individual members Recruitment Events: Backcountry Film Festival Poudre River Fest 4 New/Prospective Member Meetings

COMPLETION OF THE RANKED FOURTEENERS

In addition to the 13 Fort Collins members so-recognized last year:

Gordan Thibedeau2005Culebra PeakStacy Thibedeau2005Mount Wilson

CMC'S 2017 ELLINGWOOD GOLDEN ICE AXE MOUNTAINEERING AWARD

Awarded to Steve Martin:

Ward Whicker & Matt Biscan

ELECTION OF FORT COLLINS GROUP COUNCIL OFFICERS FOR 2018

For the Nominating Committee: Scott Farquhar

DINNER SPEAKER

Introduction	: Ward Whicker	
Speaker:	Steve Martin	Dangerous River: the First 1000-mile Expedition of Canada's
		Churchill River